Schaubude Berlin - Home

Theater der Dinge 2021

November 4—13, 2021

The World Without Us

Publication of the festival schedule and pre-sale start: October 18, 2021!

Publication of the festival schedule and pre-sale start: October 18, 2021!

With a rich programme hosted at several venues and online, the international "Theater der Dinge" festival is back!

Against the background of the world’s pandemic experience, the artistic positions adopted by this year's edition look at the end of the Anthropocene and develop ideas on how the role of man in the world can be re-positioned. On the one hand, the focus is on ecological issues and the footprint that humans leave on the world, while on the other hand there is a focus on the experience of emptiness and a desire for new strategies of networking.

The selected productions invite you to explore different facets of the theme “The world without us.” In the opening production "Still Life" by the Ljubljana Puppet Theatre, the naturalistic puppets oscillate between being a stuffed toy and being alive, all the while playing with our notions of naturalness.

The festival co-production “Understory” by Xesca Salvà and Marc Villanueva Mir searches alongside biologists for mushroom-like webs and transforms the theories of the scientist Anna Tsing, who is also giving a lecture at the festival, into an installation. “Insekten” (Insects), a co-production from the Youth National Theatre of Mannheim with the toit végétal company, and the adaptation of the novel “The Animals of Farthing Wood” by Artisanen, work with a young audience to look at how species becomes extinct, while visitors can also enjoy the VR installation “Pawāaraibu” and fly over the remains of the Hambach Forest as a singing drone.

Dealing with presence and absence, however, are Franz Schrör’s zoom performance of “Zimmer ohne Ausblick” (“Room without a View”) or “Chorografie mit Licht und Nebel” (“Choreography with Fog and Objects”) by Scheinzeitmenschen. The influence of the global exchange of goods also effects people and nature, as Yves Ndagano and Jan-Christoph Gockel vividly recount in their film “Coltan Fever,” which is based on the stories of child workers in the Democratic Republic of Congo, or the work of Silke Huysmans and Hannes Dereere on researching the island nation of Nauru.


Theater der Dinge 2021 is responding to the context of the pandemic through its programme: For this reason, it is less extensive than usually; instead, we invite you to engage with intimate performances and installations, digital stagings and a film programme, as well as an extensive accompanying programme that will largely take place online.

The festival programme might be subject to ongoing changes according to the current situation.


Stage programme
Ljubljana Puppet Theatre (Slovenia): Still Life (German premiere) // National Youth Theatre of Mannheim / cie. toit végétal (Germany): Insekten / Insects // Artisanen (Germany): The Animals of Farthing Wood // Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere / CAMPO (Belgium): Pleasant Island

Online presentations
meinhardt & krauss (Germany): ALICE – Lost and found // Liis Vares (Estonia): The Reader // Franz Schrörs (Germany): Zimmer ohne Aussicht // Room without a view

Intimate performances
Xesca Salvà & Marc Villanueva Mir (Catalonia) Understory (German premiere) // Ludomir Franczak (Poland): 6 (German Premiere) // Vendula Tomšů & Ian Mikyska (Czech Republic): 5 Books (German Premiere) // Larissa Jenne & Salomé Klein (Germany): 7 Metamorphoses // Esther Nicklas (Germany): Wir bluten ohne Wunde // We Bleed Without Being Wounded (Premiere) // Golden Delicious (France): The Kiss

Installations
edgarundallan (Germany): Down to Earth // Xavier Bobés (Catalonia): Corpus (Installation) (German Premiere) // VERAVOEGLIN (Germany): Earthbounds (Premiere) // Lex Rütten & Jana Kerima Solzer (Germany): Pawāaraibu // betweentwohands (Netherlands): Ecognosis (German Premiere) // Scheinzeitmenschen (Germany): Choreography for Licht und Nebel // Light and Fog // Krištof Kintera: Nothing but now

Film programme
Pangalaktisches Theater (Germany): Die Eigentumshöhle // The Property Cave // Yves Ndagano & Jan-Christoph Gockel (DR Congo/Germany): Coltan-Fieber // Coltan Fever // Puppet Theatre Anne-Kathrin Klatt (Germany) Confettiman // Sebastian Ryser (Germany): The Mind of Lalo Cura // Çağlar Yiğitoğullari (Deutschland): Who's Talking

Context programme
Lectures by Anna Tsing and Ursula Heise // Poetry Workshop with Tim Holland // HfS Ernst Busch/Masterstudiengang Spiel & Objekt and Schaubude Berlin: StageJam #2 // An Evening on Sustainability in Puppet Theatre with Theater Salz+Pfeffer Nuremberg // Theory Café // Festival Panel // Festival Blog

Schaubude Berlin // Schloss Biesdorf // Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte // Theaterhaus Berlin Schöneweide // Kino Krokodil // Online

Main sponsor: Senate Department for Culture and Europe

Join the newsletter

Schaubude Berlin - Home

Theater der Dinge 2021

4.—13.11.2021

Die Welt ohne uns

Veröffentlichung des vollständigen Programms und Vorverkaufsstart: 18. Oktober 2021!

Veröffentlichung des vollständigen Programms und Vorverkaufsstart: 18. Oktober 2021!

Mit einem reichhaltigen Programm an mehreren Spielorten und im digitalen Raum meldet sich das internationale Festival »Theater der Dinge« zurück!

Vor dem Hintergrund der globalen Erfahrung einer Pandemie beschäftigen sich die künstlerischen Positionen der diesjährigen Ausgabe mit dem Ende des Anthropozäns und entwickeln Ideen, wie der Standpunkt des Menschen in der Welt neu verortet werden kann. Dabei liegt der Fokus einerseits auf ökologischen Fragestellungen und dem Fußabdruck, den der Mensch auf der Welt hinterlässt, andererseits auf der Erfahrung von Leere und dem Wunsch nach neuen Strategien der Vernetzung.

Die ausgewählten Produktionen laden ein, verschiedene Facetten des Themas »Die Welt ohne uns« zu erkunden: In der Eröffnungsinszenierung »Still Life« des Puppentheaters Ljubljana changieren die naturalistischen Puppen zwischen lebendig und ausgestopft und spielen mit unseren Vorstellungen von Natürlichkeit. Die Festival-Koproduktion »Understory« von Xesca Salvà und Marc Villanueva Mir sucht mit Biologinnen nach pilzartigen Geflechten und überführt die Theorien der Wissenschaftlerin Anna Tsing, die im Festival mit einem Vortrag vertreten ist, in eine Installation. »Insekten«, eine Koproduktion des Jungen Nationaltheaters Mannheim mit der cie. toit végétal, und die Romanadaption »Als die Tiere den Wald verließen« der Artisanen blicken mit dem jungen Publikum aufs Artensterben, während die Besucher*innen der VR-Installation »Pawāaraibu« als singende Drohne über die Überreste des Hambacher Forsts fliegen.

Aber es geht auch um Anwesenheit und Abwesenheit, etwa in Franz Schrörs Zoom-Performance »Zimmer ohne Ausblick“ oder einer »Chorografie mit Nebel und Objekten« der Scheinzeitmenschen. Oder den Einfluss globaler Warenströme auf Mensch und Natur, wie es Yves Ndagano und Jan-Christoph Gockel in ihrem Film »Coltan-Fieber« anhand der Kinderarbeiter*innen in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo oder Silke Huysmans und Hannes Dereere in ihrer Recherche über den Inselstaat Nauru eindringlich erzählen.

Theater der Dinge 2021 reagiert mit seinem Programm auf die Pandemie-Situation: Das Bühnenprogramm ist in diesem Jahr kleiner gehalten, stattdessen laden intime Vorstellungen und Installationen, digitale Inszenierungen und ein Filmprogramm sowie ein umfangreiches, weitestgehend online stattfindendes Kontextprogramm zur Auseinandersetzung ein.

Das Programm des Festivals kann je nach aktueller Lage laufend geändert werden.


Bühnenprogramm
Puppentheater Ljubljana (Slowenien): Still Life (Deutschland Premiere) // Junges Nationaltheater Mannheim/cie. toit végétal (Deutschland): Insekten // Artisanen (Deutschland): Als die Tiere den Wald verließen // Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere/CAMPO (Belgien): Pleasant Island

Online-Vorstellungen
meinhardt & krauss (Deutschland): ALICE – Lost and found // Liis Vares (Estland): The Reader // Franz Schrörs (Deutschland: Zimmer ohne Aussicht)

Intime Vorstellungen
Xesca Salvà & Marc Villanueva Mir (Katalonien) Understory (Deutschland Premiere) // Ludomir Franczak (Polen): 6 (Deutschland Premiere) // Vendula Tomšů & Ian Mikyska (Tschechien): 5 Books (Deutschland Premiere) // Larissa Jenne & Salomé Klein (Deutschland): 7 Metamorphosen // Esther Nicklas (Deutschland): Wir bluten ohne Wunde (Premiere) // Golden Delicious (Frankreich): The Kiss

Installationen
edgarundallan (Deutschland): Down to Earth // Xavier Bobés (Katalonien): Corpus (Installation) (Deutschland Premiere) // VERAVOEGLIN (Deutschland): Earthbounds (Premiere) // Lex Rütten & Jana Kerima Solzer (Deutschland): Pawāaraibu // betweentwohands (Niederlande): Ecognosis (Deutschland Premiere) // Scheinzeitmenschen (Deutschland): Choreografie für Nebel und Objekte // Krištof Kintera: Nothing but now

Filmprogramm
Pangalaktisches Theater (Deutschland): Die Eigentumshöhle // Yves Ndagano & Jan-Christoph Gockel (DR Kongo/Deutschland): Coltan-Fieber// Figurentheater Anne-Kathrin Klatt (Deutschland) Confettiman // Sebastian Ryser (Deutschland): The Mind of Lalo Cura // Çağlar Yiğitoğullari (Deutschland): Who's Talking

Kontextprogramm
Vorträge von Anna Tsing und Ursula Heise // Lyrik-Workshop mit Tim Holland // HfS Ernst Busch/Masterstudiengang Spiel & Objekt und Schaubude Berlin: StageJam #2. // Ein Abend zu Nachhaltigkeit im Figurentheater mit dem Theater Salz+Pfeffer Nürnberg // Theorie-Café // Festival-Panel // Festival-Blog

Schaubude Berlin // Schloss Biesdorf // Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte // Theaterhaus Berlin Schöneweide // Kino Krokodil // Online

Hauptförderin: Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa

Für den Newsletter eintragen