Schaubude Berlin - Home

Profile

At Schaubude Berlin, figures and objects stand on stage as the main actors. In guest performances from home and abroad, in co-productions, special series and festivals, the theatre shows how 'things' look at the world.

Schaubude Berlin
Schaubude Berlin
Schaubude Berlin
Schaubude Berlin
Schaubude Berlin
Schaubude Berlin

Our children's and evening programmes that change weekly invite you to discover the range of contemporary puppet and object theatre. We are particularly interested in the border areas of the genre. That is why there are not only puppeteers on our stage, but also artists from the fields of performance, visual arts, dance and music.

Schaubude Berlin is part of Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH. Tim Sandweg has been the theatre's artistic director since 2015.

As a venue and Senate-funded production house, Schaubude Berlin has been a cornerstone institution of the city's independent performing arts since 1993. Teaser, 2020.

We see our house as a space of opportunity. We would like to offer both young artists and established freelance theatre makers good conditions and a productive exchange.

Co-production “House No. 69” by Josephine Hock, 2020, photo: Benjamin Drexler

In our co-productions, series and other projects we support production communities and set impulses in the Berlin theatre scene. Since 2016 we have been working on digital transformation in various formats.

Every year in autumn we organise the international festival for contemporary puppetry and object theatre Theater der Dinge – a source of inspiration for current developments in the genre.

Teaser Theater der Dinge 2020: “Artificial Bodies”

At the end of the season we traditionally open our doors to the theatre marathon 12 h Open Space, the Long Night of Berlin's Free Puppet and Figure Theatres.

Workshop with students of the Bötzow Primary School in the frame of the international literature festival ilb, 2020

We understand the performing arts as a dialogue between stage happenings and audience. That is why we are committed to providing theatre education and discursive formats to convey artistic processes.

As a necessary basis for the further development of figure and object theatre, we promote aesthetic research without production pressure in the annual Schaubude Residency.

Work in progress during the research residency 2020: “Mechanismen der (V)Erkennung,” photo: the-schaubies.net

We are in close contact with institutions, associations and educational bodies of international puppetry and object theatre and related fields.

Performersion” at Schaubude, 2019

Since May 2020 Schaubude Berlin, together with FITZ! Stuttgart and Westflügel Leipzig, has been part of the Alliance of International Production Centres for Figure Theatre.

In 2019, Schaubude Berlin and its artistic director, Tim Sandweg, received the ASSITEJ Organiser Award for outstanding commitment to children and youth theatre.

In 2017 the artistic work of Schaubude Berlin was awarded the Federal Theatre Prize. In the explanatory statement it reads:

“With its diverse co-operations, festivals, promotions of young talent, its offers for all age groups, its genre crossings and its determined search and research movements into digital worlds, this small house is one of Berlin's creative engines.”

The building at Greifswalder Strasse 81-84 was constructed as a Karstadt department shop in 1929 according to the plans of the Charlottenburg architect Ernst Schneckenberg and is now a listed building. In 1949, “Filmbühne Atlas” was located here. In 1972, the state-run “Puppentheater Berlin,” the largest ensemble puppet theatre in the German-speaking countries at the time, moved in. It was wound up in 1991.

Schaubude Berlin, 2020

In 1993 the newly founded, Senate-funded Schaubude Berlin finally moved into the premises. The early years of the theatre were shaped by Gerd Taube, under whose direction the independent Berlin figure and puppet theatre scene found an artistic home and a regular evening programme for adults was established.

The entrance in the founding year 1993, photo: archive Schaubude Berlin

Silvia Brendenal, who ran the house between 1997 and 2015, opened up the Schaubude artistically to the visual imagery of the “théatre d'objets” (theatre of objects). She founded numerous festivals, including “Theater der Dinge” (Theatre of Things) or the first figure and object theatre festival for the very young, “Unter dem Tisch.”

From 2015 Tim Sandweg continued the tradition of the festival “Theater der Dinge” as artistic director. The first edition for which he was responsible, “Digital is better” (2016), was the prelude to a further opening of the programme towards digitality, robotics and hybrid forms between the performing and visual arts.

You can find an interview with the former artistic director of Schaubude Berlin, Silvia Brendenal, on the project blog of WAS BLEIBT. (What Remains) by Agencia EL SOLAR and Anya Deubel. Video still, 2020.
Theatres are expected to have to close down again from November 2nd. The concrete implementation of yesterday's decisions for Berlin is still pending. THEATER DER DINGE 2020: ARTIFICIAL BODIES , our festival for contemporary figure and object …
read more
In May 2020, Schaubude Berlin, Westflügel Leipzig und FITZ Theater animierter Formen have founded the "Alliance of International Production Centres for Figure Theatre". Joining forces aims at creating a network for artistic collaboration, bundling …
read more
Programme

Join the newsletter

Schaubude Berlin - Home

Profil

In der Schaubude Berlin stehen Figuren und Objekte als Hauptdarsteller*innen auf der Bühne. In Gastspielen aus dem In- und Ausland, in Koproduktionen, Sonderreihen und Festivals zeigen wir die Sicht der Dinge auf die Welt.

Schaubude Berlin
Schaubude Berlin
Schaubude Berlin
Schaubude Berlin
Schaubude Berlin
Schaubude Berlin

Mit unserem wöchentlich wechselnden Kinder- und Abendprogramm laden wir dazu ein, die Bandbreite zeitgenössischen Figuren- und Objekttheaters zu entdecken. Die Grenzbereiche des Genres interessieren uns besonders. Deshalb stehen auf unserer Bühne nicht nur Puppenspieler*innen, sondern auch Künstler*innen aus den Bereichen Performance, Bildende Kunst, Tanz oder Musik.

Die Schaubude Berlin gehört zur Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH. Künstlerischer Leiter des Theaters ist seit 2015 Tim Sandweg.

Schaubude Berlin: Als Spielstätte und senatsgefördertes Produktionshaus seit 1993 eine Anker-Institution der freien darstellenden Künste der Stadt. Trailer


Wir verstehen unser Haus als Möglichkeitsraum. Sowohl dem künstlerischen Nachwuchs als auch etablierten freischaffenden Theatermacher*innen möchten wir gute Rahmenbedingungen und einen produktiven Austausch bieten.

Koproduktion »Haus Nr. 69«, Foto: Benjamin Drexler

In unseren Ko-/Produktionen, in Reihen und Projekten unterstützen wir Produktionsgemeinschaften und setzen Impulse in der Berliner Theaterlandschaft. Seit 2016 beschäftigen wir uns in verschiedenen Formaten mit der digitalen Transformation.

Beim internationalen Festival des zeitgenössischen Figuren- und Objekttheaters Theater der Dinge zeigen wir aktuelle Entwicklungen des Genres zu einem Schwerpunkthema. Aktuell: »Künstliche Körper«

Trailer Theater der Dinge 2020: »Künstliche Körper«

Zum Spielzeitende laden wir traditionell zum Theatermarathon 12 h Open Space, die Lange Nacht der freien Puppen- und Figurentheater Berlins.

Workshop mit der Bötzow-Grundschule im Rahmen des internationalen Literaturfestivals ilb, 2020

Wir verstehen darstellende Kunst als einen Dialog zwischen Bühnengeschehen und Publikum. Daher engagieren wir uns in theaterpädagogischen Angeboten und diskursiven Formaten für die Vermittlung künstlerischer Prozesse.

Als notwendige Grundlage für die Weiterentwicklung des Figuren- und Objekttheaters fördern wir in der jährlichen Schaubude-Residenz ästhetisches Forschen ohne Produktionsdruck.

Work-in-Progress bei der Forschungsresidenz 2020 »Mechanismen der (V)Erkennung«, Foto: the-schaubies.net

Mit Institutionen, Verbänden und Ausbildungsstätten des internationalen Figuren- und Objekttheaters und angrenzenden Bereichen stehen wir in engem Kontakt.

Die »Performersion« zu Gast in der Schaubude, 2019

Seit Mai 2020 sind wir zusammen mit dem FITZ Zentrum für Figurentheater Stuttgart und dem Westflügel Leipzig Teil der Allianz internationaler Produktionszentren für Figurentheater.

2019 erhielt die Schaubude Berlin und ihr Künstlerischer Leiter, Tim Sandweg, den ASSITEJ Veranstalterpreis für ausgezeichnetes Engagement im Kinder- und Jugendtheater.

2017 wurde die künstlerische Arbeit der Schaubude Berlin mit dem Theaterpreis des Bundes ausgezeichnet. In der Begründung heißt es:

»Mit seinen vielfältigen Kooperationen, Festivals, Nachwuchsförderprogrammen, mit seinen Angeboten für alle Altersgruppen, seinen Genregrenzüberschreitungen und seinen entschiedenen Such- und Forschungsbewegungen in digitale Welten gehört dieses kleine Haus zu den kreativen Motoren Berlins.«

Das Gebäude in der Greifswalder Straße 81-84 wurde 1929 nach Plänen des Charlottenburger Architekten Ernst Schneckenberg als Karstadt-Kaufhaus erbaut und steht heute unter Denkmalschutz. 1949 war die »Filmbühne Atlas« hier zu Hause. Zu DDR-Zeiten zog 1972 das staatliche »Puppentheater Berlin« ein, das damals größte Ensemble-Puppentheater im deutschsprachigen Raum. Es wurde 1991 abgewickelt.

Schaubude Berlin, 2020

1993 bezog schließlich die neu gegründete, senatgeförderte Schaubude Berlin die Räumlichkeiten. Die Anfangsjahre des Theaters prägte Gerd Taube, unter dessen Leitung die freie Berliner Figuren- und Puppentheaterszene eine künstlerische Herberge fand und ein regelmäßiger Abendspielplan für Erwachsene etabliert wurde.

Gründungsjahr 1993, Foto: Archiv Schaubude Berlin

Silvia Brendenal, die das Haus von 1997 bis 2015 leitete, öffnete die Schaubude künstlerisch für die visuelle Bildsprache des »théatre d‘objets« (Objekttheater). Sie begründete zahlreiche Festivals, darunter »Theater der Dinge« oder das erste Figuren- und Objekttheater-Festival für die ganz Kleinen, »Unter dem Tisch«.

Ab 2015 setzte Tim Sandweg als Künstlerischer Leiter die Tradition des Festivals »Theater der Dinge« fort. Die erste von ihm verantwortete Ausgabe »Digital ist besser« (2016) war der Auftakt für eine weitere Öffnung des Programms in Richtung Digitalität, Robotik und hybride Formen an der Grenze der darstellenden und der bildenden Künste.

Ein Interview mit Silvia Brendenal, der früheren Künstlerischen Leiterin der Schaubude, gibt es im »Online-Archiv der erzählenden Dinge« WAS BLEIBT. von Agencia EL SOLAR und Anya Deubel. Videostill, 2020.
Die kommende Ausgabe unseres internationalen Festivals für Figuren- und Objekttheater THEATER DER DINGE findet vom 3. bis 10. November statt. Thema sind »Künstliche Körper«.
weiterlesen
Im Mai 2020 hat die Schaubude Berlin zusammen mit FITZ! Zentrum für Figurentheater Stuttgart und Westflügel Leipzig die »Allianz internationaler Produktionszentren für Figurentheater» gegründet. Die drei größten Häuser für freischaffend produziertes …
weiterlesen
Spielplan

Für den Newsletter eintragen